Friday, November 18, 2016

Looking Ahead

A few notes before heading to New Jersey this afternoon:
Find Dartmouth's game notes for the season finale against Princeton HERE.
Dartmouth is going with the more traditional look at Princeton:

Princeton, meanwhile, is going with the all-black look:

Green Alert Take: Still hard to believe fashion has become such a big thing. Maybe it's the Penn Stater in me, but I'm just fine with "black shoes, basic blues, no names, all game."
The Princeton football blog has a look ahead to Saturday's game that includes this:
“It does not get better than this,” said defensive end Brannon Jones. “To have a chance to play for the championship, at home, against a good Dartmouth team that you haven’t beaten, we could not ask for any more.”
The Daily Princetonian has a preview of sorts HERE. As for The Dartmouth, well, uh.
From the Columbia football blog:
Dartmouth +14 1/2 at Princeton 
I think the Big Green has enough fight left in them to make this closer. But the Tigers will still win.
The Valley News has a very nice profile of Folarin "Flo" Orimolade, Dartmouth's pro prospect linebacker and pass rusher extraordinaire HERE.
Speaking of Orimolade, he won a special award last night:
Senior linebacker Flo Orimolade is presented the Hard-Nose award by head football trainer Mike Derosier after practice last night. 
At the conclusion of the final practice of the year the Dartmouth training staff presents its Hard-Nose Award to that player who has overcome the physical adversity in the best possible fashion to be a significant contributor to the team. While is chosen by the training staff without input from the Dartmouth coaches, Buddy Teevens thinks the trainers made the right choice, telling BGA:
"It’s perfectly fitting. He has made such a difference over the course of the last four years. He misses a lot of practices but he doesn’t miss games. He’s always bumped and bruised.
"We talk a lot about bumps and owwies. In addition to the hip he’s probably had everything known to man. But he continues to come out and rock and roll it. He is a special player and a special person and very deserving of this award.”
All-Time Winners:
2016 – Folarin Orimolade
2015 – Eric Wickham
2014 – AJ Dillione
2013 - Chase Womack
             Elliot Kastner
2012 - Garrett Wymore
2011 - John Gallagher
2010 - Luke Hussey
2009 - Peter Pidermann
2008 - Joe Battaglia
2007 - Taylor Layman
2006 - Joe Gibalski
2005 - Charles Ganske
2004 - Derham Cato
2003 - Lyle Campbell
2002 - Bob Reeves
2001 - Matt Mercer
2000 - Dan Hutchinson
1999 - Tom Reusser
1998 - Kyle Rogers
1997 - Keith Lockwood
1996 - Jeff Schmitt
1995 - Taran Lent
1994 - Josh Bloom
1993 - Chris Umscheid
1992 - Neal Martin
1991 - Al Rosier
1990 - Tom Meier
1989 - Harris Siskind
1988 - David Gazzaniga
1987 - Lance High
1986 - John Randolph
1985 - Slade Schuster
1984 - Harry Bourque
1983 - Mark Pare
1982 - Gary Spiegelman
1981 - John Merriman
1980 - Tom Marek
1979 - John Clark
1978 - Nigel Key
1977 - Dave Casper
1976 - Jim Lucas
1975 - Dan Murphy
1974 - Brian Wroczynski
1973 - Rick Gerardi
1972 - Doug Jaeger
1971 - Brendan O’Neill, Stu Simms
1970 - Giff Foley 
Another year in the books . . .
The banners are about to come down for another year.

The Friends tent was being removed Thursday.