Friday, January 06, 2012

Ivy Players High In Voting

Princeton tailback Chuck Dibilio was fifth and Harvard offensive lineman Will Whitman 13th in voting for the inaugural Jerry Rice Award, which identifies the outstanding freshman in the FCS as chosen by The Sports Network and Terrance West, a running back at Towson, was the winner.

Harvard defensive lineman Josue Ortiz tied for 22nd as a write-in candidate in balloting for the 2011 Buck Buchanan Award, which honors the outstanding defensive player in the FCS. The award is presented by TSN and sponsored by Fathead. New Hampshire linebacker Matt Evans was the winner.

TSN also had Harvard's Tim Murphy 10th in voting for the Eddie Robinson Award as FCS coach of the year. Former Dartmouth assistant Kevin Kelly of Georgetown was seventh. Rob Ambrose of Towson was the winner.

No comments: